PDA

View Full Version : How do you store your carving tools?

John Keeton
08-23-2008, 7:25 AM
I recently acquired some carving tools, and eventually want to expand my woodworking into some carving. I want to store my carving tools and chisels in a couple of shallow drawers. Does anyone have pics on how they store their tools? They are in rolls now and I am not too excited about having to unroll them everytime I want to use one or have a project in progress.

Mike Henderson
08-23-2008, 11:28 AM
I keep mine in rolls because I often need to transport my tools. I do not find it a problem to unroll my tools on the bench. In fact, since I know how I store my tools, it makes it very quick and easy to reach for the tool I want.

Mike

John Keeton
08-23-2008, 11:33 AM
Mike, as you know, I am really new at this. I have a concrete floor and have almost dropped a couple of these while unrolling them already. Finesse is a short suit for me! Makes you wonder about whether I should be carving?? The drawer unit I have is on rollers and I thought if I could have them in the drawer, I could roll the unit to where I am carving and pick one tool at a time. Looking for some type of system in the drawer I guess.

randall rosenthal
08-23-2008, 8:42 PM
i built a shallow box and divided it into about 20 long skinny compartments. i can put two tools in each compartment facing each other. at any given time about half (the least used half)of my carving tools can actually be found there....the rest never get put away.

John Keeton
08-23-2008, 9:21 PM
Thanks Randall, with the work you do, I can imagine the number of tools in use at any given moment!

In thinking more about this, what about this idea. Take a piece of 3/4 stock, say 3" wide, and as long as the drawer is wide. Drill a series of holes alternating between a larger hole, maybe 1 - 1 1/4" hole, followed by a smaller hole.