PDA

View Full Version : Are there others?

Tim Sproul
05-03-2004, 12:27 PM
I am relatively new to custom building furniture. Just wondering who all others get design/style perspective from.

I've read a bit on George Nakashima - I like his metaphysical views on the "spirit" of woods....but not so much his aesthetics on furniture.

Thomas Moser - Wonderful, simple style. Reflective of Stickley/Arts and Crafts/Mission...but quite distinctive from that. The commonality they have is the simplicity aspect. I don't agree with his near exclusive use of cherry and ash.....could be the Nakashima influence.

Stickley/Mission/Arts and Crafts.....Simple, awesome style. Yet, I'm a bit more partial to Moser's style. Stickley's stuff is a bit more blocky than what appeals to me. I find Moser's style softer...and more appealing.

Krenov...master of "reading" wood colors and grains....I don't believe Krenov is known so much for his style/design....probably due to not having gone down the marketing avenue that Stickley and Moser went (whether by chance or design is debatable). I like his cabinetry and his thoughts that you should always be willing to change your design to suit the wood you've got on hand....if the grain pattern suggests you arch the stretcher but you originally wanted a rectangular stretcher....go find a different board or make the stretcher arched.

Who else is there?

Maloof - master of finishing and most of what I've seen are chairs.....especially his rockers that he is very famous for.

Klaus - most of what I've read and seen is more a "how to" than design. There may well be a lot of material on Klaus' style but I haven't run across them yet.

Tage Frid, Kirby and other notable "masters"....see above of Klaus.

I just wondering what other names I might search for when looking for books on style/design inspiration.

Jim Becker
05-03-2004, 1:21 PM