PDA

View Full Version : Spoilboard/humidity

Corky Cook
08-19-2008, 3:12 PM
I have a CamTech RouterMaster II with a bed that allows me to cut 72" x 150" and a 30 hp vaccum. My problem is humidity. I'm in Savannah, GA, where at this time of year the humidity is 90-95%. I work with very tight tolerences (.002")with plastics. My spoilboard is 1.25" MDF. It works fine early in the a.m. but changes as the day goes by. I do a table clear before each job but still having problems. My prior shop had A/C so I didn't have the problem. Not so lucky here. Does anyone have a suggestion?

Michael Kowalczyk
08-19-2008, 9:12 PM
It all depends on what you are cutting. if it is the same part use a dedicated spoil board. If you area apart shop where every sheet is different, then do like I did and built a room around the CNC with it's own AC. Make sure you put your dust collector's filter media (bags or cartridges) inside the room so you do not loose your AC'd air back into the shop or outside. You AC will never keep up with a dust collector's CFM.

If you are short on floorspace, you can get creative as to where you place your bags or cartridges. You can build a shelf to hold them as you suspend them from the ceiling or what ever else you come up with. A roll-up garage door works great for me. I can still drive the fork lift in to load a pallet of material on the rolling pallet. Take a picture and post it here so we can see what we are working with.

Corky Cook
08-20-2008, 9:49 AM
I'm cutting Corian, acrylic, and Lexan. It's only the Corian that I have to pocket, this leaves a drip ledge around the countertop. The consistant thickness of the material is very important.