PDA

View Full Version : Band saw blade tensioning

Prashun Patel
08-19-2008, 1:26 PM
Curious: do you all untension your bandsaw blades between uses? I'm new to the bandsaw and don't want to damage my tires...

Jason Beam
08-19-2008, 1:34 PM
Yes.

Some say it isn't needed ... others say it is. 5 seconds to never find out who's right? I do it :)

Peter Quadarella
08-19-2008, 1:50 PM
I do because I have a quick release tension handle thing. If I didn't, I probably would not bother. They (them again) say that leaving it tensioned can cause extra wear on your blade, tires, and machine, which makes sense to me, but I don't think it really makes that much of a difference in practice. People used bandsaws for decades and never thought about detensioning until relatively recently.

Verne Mattson
08-19-2008, 2:16 PM
I always de-tension. I've also read conflicting views on this, but the majority is on the de-tensioning side. I'd rather be safe than sorry, especially since I might not use it for a week or two between projects.

I find it to be a minor pain. I would love to install a tension lever like that made by Carter, but my shop is in my basement, and with a riser and mobile base the saw barely clears my home's support beam. The Carter adds another inch or so to the overall height. I don't want to keep my bandsaw on just one side of the basement!:rolleyes:

Dave Sweeney
08-19-2008, 2:16 PM
Add me to the list of those that detension the blade after each use.

Frank Drew
08-19-2008, 2:32 PM
People used bandsaws for decades and never thought about detensioning until relatively recently.

True, but you've no doubt noticed that most older bandsaw tires have deep grooves permanently compressed into them. Oliver replaced the tires on my 192-D wheels and recommended detensioning the band between uses; it never would have occurred to me without their suggestion.