PDA

View Full Version : Weekend Accomplishments....PICS

Dennis Peacock
05-02-2004, 11:03 PM
Well, another weekend has come and gone and I didn't get much shop time in during the weekend. I managed to turn a couple of Freedome pens and get more blanks ready to turn. I finished a English Maple bowl that I started almost a week ago now and this maple bowl was my first very serious attempt at making a decent bowl for once. I'm still new at bowl turning and still have a LOT to learn. I even managed to turn a Gentlemens Rollerball Pen for a guy at work who saw one I just made for a fellow SMC'er ;) that I still have to get engraved and shipped out. :D

I was commissioned today to make a couple of twin size beds for a guy at church and that will be the only real "flat" project I take on this year. I'm trying to dedicate as much time as I can to getting better on the lathe.

BTW, the bowl is English Maple and the pen posted here is Desert Ironwood. The pics don't do either one of them justice. :rolleyes:

Jim Ketron
05-02-2004, 11:30 PM
Great Job Dennis!!
Nice bowl and the wood on that pen looks great!
Do you use mini or full sized chisels on your pens?
Jim

Dennis Peacock
05-02-2004, 11:46 PM
Great Job Dennis!!
Nice bowl and the wood on that pen looks great!
Do you use mini or full sized chisels on your pens?
Jim

Jim,

I use full sized turning tools on everything. Sometime I wish I had smaller turning tools to do detail stuff with, but hey, that takes more money and I have a septic system I still have to get fixed. :rolleyes:

I have one other Gentlemen's Roller ball pen but I'm not posting pics of it since it goes to a fellow SMC'er and I just don't want to spoil the surprise! :D

John Miliunas
05-03-2004, 7:58 AM