PDA

View Full Version : PM vs Griz?

alex penner
08-12-2008, 4:44 PM
i'm a newby hobbyist with many hundreds if not 1000's of BF of western maple i intend to turn into lumber.

What would the guys with the experience buy, the extreme series 15" Griz planer with the helical cutting head for $1400 or the PM 15S planer with the spiral head for $1800?

My PM 66 TS was made in the US. Is PM still made in the states?

your advice is appreciated

Dennis Peacock
08-12-2008, 4:48 PM
Alex,

PM is not made in the U.S. any longer.
If you get a 15" PM planer? Get it with the helical or shelix cutter head. No NOT get it with the standard spiral knife cutter head. The knives won't hold an edge very long.

See this thread of my cutter head change out.... Here's the link. (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=90027)

Also Alex....take a look here (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=78281) to see my other post about the 15S. In short, once you go to a carbide shelix or helical cutter head? You'll be VERY glad you did.

Lance Norris
08-12-2008, 6:10 PM
The Grizzly planer is a very well made machine. I have the 1021X which is the earlier version of the 1021X2. I would highly recommend it. I cant see where the PM would be much better, especially when you consider that the PM with the helical head is $2300. I would not buy the Powermatic with the spiral head, the knives are basically straight knives in a twist, so-to-speak.

Rick Fisher
08-13-2008, 2:10 AM
The high end Grizzly product is very good stuff. These companies, Grizzly, Powermatic, General etc. are really importers of machinery made by others.

Powermatic and General tend to lean towards importing the better machines from better manufacturers. Grizzly seems to import everything :)

So if you buy a cheap Grizzly tool, you will get just that. If you buy an expensive Grizzly tool, all indications are that your getting the best machinery.