PDA

View Full Version : Filter for new compressor

Tim Malyszko
08-10-2008, 10:58 PM
This morning, I picked up a new Compressor - Husky 60 Gal VT6314 - at the BORG. I've been looking at Craigslist for a bigger compressor and came across this one "open-box" for a heck of a deal and it was sort of a spontaneous purchase. Anyway, since I'm using it primarily for spraying finishes, I would like to add a filter to the unit, but I'm not even sure where to begin. Is there a specific filter that one would recommend?

I'm pretty new to spraying finishes, but before I was using a 4 Gal Dewalt Emglo Portable Compressor. It is amazing how much of a difference the bigger difference made when I sprayed primer today.

Thanks in advance.

Joe Jensen
08-11-2008, 12:48 AM
You need a particle filter, and a coellescing filter (spelling?). Ideally you'd also add a dessicant dryer. The first two are not terribly expenisive, maybe $30-100. the latter is more like $100...joe

Dave Rose
08-11-2008, 7:15 AM
http://www.spraygunworld.com/products/MotorGuard/Motorguard%20M30.htm

It will give you .01 micron filtration for $55.00 using a toilet paper roll. I also use a cheap water trap as a 1st stage filter. I’ve been using this setup for over 20 yrs. With no issues

It is best to have 50’ of hose / line between the compressors and filter.

Tim Malyszko
08-12-2008, 2:43 PM
Thanks Joe and Dave. 50' fo hose between the compressor and filter isn't a problem since compressor sits in the detached garage and the paint booth resides in the basement.

gato markham
08-12-2008, 10:16 PM
This Brings Up My Question. I Read About An Intake Attachment That Slowed Down The Surge On The Compressor So It Would Not Trip Breakers But Why Not A Moisture Filter On Intake To Keep Water Vapor Out Of The Tank In The First Place ???

Maury Saggus
08-13-2008, 12:49 AM