PDA

View Full Version : Veritas/LV Large or Medium shoulder plane? which one to buy?

Kevin Blunt
08-08-2008, 7:21 AM
Hello,

I am going to be buying a Veritas shoulder in th every near future. I would like to hear from you guys about your experiences with either and which one you would buy if you only bought one. I am a complete novice at M&T joinery but want the right tools in place before I go down that road. Can anyone give thoughts on why one might be better than the other? I really appreciate your thoughts and respect your opinions and any info you can share, whether it's hands on knowledge of the planes or just general expertise in this area would prove really beneficial to a rookie like me.

Thanks alot for any thoughts or advice,

Kevin

Brent Smith
08-08-2008, 8:39 AM
Hi Kevin,

Both have their uses. It depends on the size of work you plan on doing. I find myself reaching for the medium plane far more often though.

Hank Knight
08-08-2008, 9:54 AM
I don't know about the LV planes except what I'v read about them. I have both the medium and large LN shoulder planes. I had the large one a long time before they came out with the medium and I used it alot. I bought the medium one as soon as it went on the market and I find I use it much more now than the large one. It's lighter and easier to handle - the large one weighs a ton - and it fits the scale of my work. I've heard good things about the LV medium shoulder plane. If I were starting over, I'd probably start with a LV medium.

My $.02.

Hank

Richard Niemiec
08-08-2008, 10:23 AM
I have the LN large, and LV medium, if I had to pick just one, it would be the LV medium (this is not to say the large does not get its use). Go ahead, pull the trigger, you won't be disappointed.

Chuck Nickerson
08-08-2008, 11:39 AM
An advantage of the medium shoulder plane, is it can be used in cleaning the bottom of 3/4" dados.

Rod Sheridan
08-08-2008, 11:56 AM