PDA

View Full Version : Lacquer Help

Wayne Bitting
08-07-2008, 2:03 PM
Howdy all – time for some more lacquer finishing advise. I have a bowl with a pierced rim that I am trying out a lacquer finish on. Its my first time with lacquer and I’m using Deft spray gloss. I planned on using the Beall buffing wheels to really make it shine but I’m worried about the threads catching on the piercings and breaking them as well as all of the buffing compounds getting stuck inside. I think I’m confidant that I can buff everything other then the rim without a problem, but how do I make the rim match in shine and smoothness? I sprayed three coats on last night, how long before I can buff it?

Thanks - Wayne

Bernie Weishapl
08-07-2008, 2:08 PM
Wayne I think I would have the same concern as you do about the rim. Myself I don't buff gloss lacquer. I have never seen a need to. I to would be afraid I would have a catch and break something. IMHO if is were me I don't think I would buff it.

Harvey Mushman
08-07-2008, 3:09 PM
Wayne, Don't buff it! Too many unpleasant things can happen. Buffing through the lacquer is one. Catching the bowl and bouncing it off the wall is another.

There are several things that you can do. Give the lacquer a week before you do anything. It needs to cure. I'm not familiar with Deft so I don't know if it is a nitro lac or not. I use a catalyzed lacquer from ML Campbell. This stuff is very quick to cure. First, I would wet sand with mineral spirits down to 2000gr, not too wet though. Then you could use Micro Mesh to 12000 and a very fine polish..... OR.....use some polishing compounds designed for polishing lacquer on guitars. Grizzly carries these under the Menzerna name. I use these often for my guitar building projects and find them to be outstanding. They can be used either on a soft cloth and rubbed by hand or on a foam pad on a drill or a car buffer.

Wayne Bitting
08-08-2008, 6:34 AM