PDA

View Full Version : When old things become new again...

Don Carter
08-07-2008, 11:47 AM
This is my first shaving brush with turned handle after one week of shaving (I wanted to try this thing out to see how it holds up). I do not know what the wood is. It was a gift to me. The brush is fairly long, almost 5 1/2" overall. It has a CA finish. I have enjoyed making it and really enjoyed using it. What do you guys think about stuff like this?

Daniel Heine
08-07-2008, 12:35 PM
Very nice brush. I have been shaving with a mug and a brush since 1970 when aerosol propellants were first identified as depleting the ozone layer. To this day, I do not use any products in spray cans. I think shaving brushes could be a big seller of you were to partner with a fine mens clothing store. They could be displayed on a rack similiar to the ones used for bottle stoppers, and I think would sell very well. Brushes can be purchased from one of our very own here:

http://www.turchetta.com/goldennib/brushes.htm

I think there is a big market out there for this, and no one has touched it yet.

Just my 2 cents.

Dan

Don Carter
08-07-2008, 12:53 PM
Thanks Dan. I did buy the brush "knots" from Anthony and he was very helpful with some questions that I had during the process. He sells very high quality badger knots and the tutorial on his website is the best. I am going to do some more brushes for family and friends. I am just a hobbyist, but one of my friends is the owner of a high end men's clothing store. Great idea!

Bernie Weishapl
08-07-2008, 2:14 PM
Very nice brush. I really need to try one of those. Well done.

robert hainstock
08-07-2008, 3:39 PM
A realy good liiking brush. The wood maybe cocobolo??? :)
Bob

Paul Douglass
08-07-2008, 5:24 PM
I use a shave brush always have, just get a better shave. I'm curious how do you fix the brush in the handle? Epoxy?

I like the longer handle you put on that one. Very nice job.

David Hullum
08-07-2008, 5:42 PM