PDA

View Full Version : Just curious..what is the Borg?

Bob Slater
08-03-2008, 6:33 AM
I see this term used a lot here. Is the Borg a brand of big box store in the US? If yes, how does it differ from Home Despot?

Ed Sallee
08-03-2008, 6:38 AM
One & the same.... referring to "the borg" from Star Trek-Next Generation days.... "you will be assimilated"!!! lol

John Keeton
08-03-2008, 6:53 AM
Bob, when I asked this same question a few months ago as a newbie, I was given Ed's response, and also that is was an acronym for "big ol' retail giant." Not being a Star Wars person, the second made more sense to me. Somehow, I was able to make it to this point in life without being "assimilated" into the Star Wars culture.

jerry nazard
08-03-2008, 7:08 AM
Bob,

I always thought it was Greek for "Big Orange". Orange you sorry you asked (:>........?

Best!

-Jerry

Chuck Tringo
08-03-2008, 7:18 AM
Yep, and when you see Orange Borg, its HD, Blue Borg = Lowes :)

Joe Scharle
08-03-2008, 8:16 AM
I've always felt it was : Big Obnoxious Retail Giant !

Walt Caza
08-03-2008, 8:53 AM
Hi all,
I am still resisting being assimilated.
Not a fan of the borgs at all.
I only go to those big you're-on-your-own
time-stealing stores as a last alternative.

sidebar to John: Star Wars and Star Trek are two different things!

Resistance is futile...
I guess I'll see you at the borg,
Walt
:)

Ed Sallee
08-03-2008, 8:58 AM
Well, I refuse to be assimilated too..... as I look for my keys, on my way to Rockler cuz they open at 10, then Woodcraft cuz they open at 12..... Probably drive by several Borg's on the way...

Ellen Benkin
08-03-2008, 12:58 PM
Big Orange Retail Giant

John Keeton
08-03-2008, 2:56 PM
sidebar to John: Star Wars and Star Trek are two different things!,
Walt
:)
Walt - Star Wars, Star Trek - all the same to me! I was too busy trying to earn a living, raise kids, and find another place to deer hunt when all that was going on! Can't say that I regret any of it!

Rick Fisher