PDA

View Full Version : Using acrylic paints.....

Chip Sutherland
08-01-2008, 12:13 AM
I finished turning a piece of cypress. I never got past the fact that I thought it was an ugly piece of wood. Started dyeing it but the soft and dense grain took the dye very poorly. Now I've opted for acrylic paint....but I have never used them before (at least not since middle school).
> What are the critical points to know? :confused:
> how do I get a smooth surface.
>I kind of like the brush strokes right now but I might want to rub them out and go for a glossy finish.
>What type of top coat can I use?
Thanks for the primer. I think I might ask for a painting class for Christmas.:D

Jim Becker
08-01-2008, 5:58 AM
I've had great success with the Golden acrylics on turnings. I just have used good quality artists brushes for application. Folks who use the semi-transparent colors/transparent colors usually opt to use an air brush for blending, etc. Once I am done with the color coats, I spray on Target Coatings USL (which is also a clear acrylic product). That would be the only way I'd consider any rubbing out afterward.

Ron Fleice
08-01-2008, 7:19 AM
Chip you might want to try the textured paints from Lowes or HD ...spray on, easy to apply, I sprayed a laquer over top to seal it all and left the inside of the bowl natural wood..here is a pic
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y290/Ronluc/texturedbowl22.jpg
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y290/Ronluc/texturedbowl11.jpg

Ron

Jim Becker
08-01-2008, 8:19 AM
Be careful with using lacquer over anything that isn't lacquer...the solvents can craze or otherwise harm the underlying finish. Of course, that can also be used for interesting effect; something I did way back when in my model car competition days.

Ron Fleice
08-01-2008, 11:23 AM