PDA

View Full Version : Tool Gloat, and hard decision...

Jamie Hargrave
07-31-2008, 8:00 AM
So, after some good advice from this forum, ie. go get it now before someone else does! I picked up an old Rockwell Unisaw for... $240. It is a 1.5 hp model, however the motor is rated for 20/10 Amps, so I wonder if the hp rating is a little conservative, as my Craftsman contractor saw is rated for 1.5hp with a 13/6.5 Amp motor.

I'm not sure on the age of the saw, so I'm going to post over at OWWM to see if someone there can interperate the serial number for me. My best guess is a late 60's early 70's saw based on the style of the dust door... which really means nothing because I have no experience at this!

So, here is my hard decision. The saw came with a 52" unifence and extention table. However I don't have 52" to the right of my saw in my one car garage... I mean shop! Right now I have a Saw Shop redline fence (a mule replica) on my Craftsman, that I am going to remove when I sell the Craftsman. It is a 30" fence, so I could use it. But the Unifence is calling to me. So, what should I do. Use the Mule and live with it, or cut down the rail for the Unifence, and regret that decision when I move to a larger shop?

Here is the proof by the way! It is a little dirty and rusty, but it runs fine, just a cosmetic rebuild is needed!

Jerome Hanby
07-31-2008, 8:49 AM
What a great score! Congrats!

Would it be possible to put it on a mobile base and maneuver it as needed to accommodate the 52"?

Or maybe you can find another set of rails and store the originals away for when you have more room...

Chuck Tringo
07-31-2008, 8:54 AM
Or you could cut the rails now and buy new 52 inch rails when you need them :D

Chris Kennedy
07-31-2008, 9:13 AM
I think we are all overlooking the obvious solution. Sell the house and buy one that fits the saw.:D

Cheers,

Chris

Jamie Hargrave
07-31-2008, 9:29 AM
hmmmm, you have a good point. I'll talk to the wife immediately and get on that!!