PDA

View Full Version : Hello all. New here Just want to introduce my self.

glen box
07-30-2008, 10:42 PM
I am a hobbist. I have been told that I should start some kind of business building cabnets and furniture. My reply to that is, if I made it my job then It would not be a relaxing hobby any more.

I have a 600 sq ft workshop im my back yard. That is why I bought the house. I have all the tools anyone would need and probaly even more I don't need. But Hey you never know when something will come in handy. Right? After reading several of the threads and looking a some of the projects in here I can tell that most of you are more advanced in skill than me. Also you guys seem willing to spend alot more money on your tools that I can. But hey I make do with what I have.

I was introduced to woodworking by my dad. He was a carpenter by trade. I started "helping" him in the garage, when I was 8 yrs old, at home when ever he had cabnets to make. At 12 I started going to work with him during the summers for 5$ a day. I guess that was cheaper than daycare.

Well I could say more but I don't want to bore ya'll. So hello all And I am looking forward to contributing where I can and learning even more.

Don Bullock
07-30-2008, 10:50 PM
Glen, welcome to Sawmill Creek. It sounds like you have a nice size shop. I'd be interested in seeing some pictures of it and some of your work.

glen box
07-30-2008, 10:57 PM
I plan to do that in the near future. Right now I am still trying to fiell my way around this site. Like how do you put a picture of your self with your post?

John Thompson
07-30-2008, 11:09 PM
Welcome Glen. When I was 12 I was making $.50 a day.. so things have changed. But basically the love of WW will not I have found.

Happy WW'ing...

Sarge..

Denny Rice
07-30-2008, 11:58 PM
Welcome to the Creek Glen.......There are a lot of good people here with a lot of good advice if you ever finding yourself needing it. I think SMC is the best woodworking forum on the web.:D