PDA

View Full Version : Need help w/ early K2 prototype

Phil Thien
07-30-2008, 1:30 PM
In 6/2003, I purchased an early prototype of a desktop K2 CNC machine. I used it a little early on for making a few very simple parts that I suppose I could have made other ways. I was initially surprised that the machine had a tendency to stall (at as little as 30 to 36-IPM), so I haven't used it since.

I FIRST WANT TO SAY THAT THIS IS NO INDICTMENT OF K2CNC. I AM A NEWBIE and for all intents and purposes, I think people should assume that I don't know what the heck I'm doing. FURTHER, this machine was a prototype, and I only paid $700 for it (no controller, but did include steppers).

So I've been reading and decided to drag it out again and investigate ways to fix/improve it.

It initially shipped with white plastic nuts on what I guess are Acme screws. The seller also included brass nuts separately.

In the last couple of days, I've replaced the X and Y-axis nuts with the brass ones. I found that I can now drive faster (no stalling at 36-IPM, can often get away with 48-IPM, and can even go for a little while at 72-IPM before stalling).

The Y-axis had quite a bit of grease on the screw and in the nut. It was kinda hard to turn on the screw. The X-axis had very little grease or lubricant, and the nut was easier to spin but noticeably kinda chattery (if that is a word). I guess both plastic nuts caused some chatter or vibration that the brass ones don't seem to exhibit.

I've learned that geometry is critical. After replacing the Y-axis nut I noticed that it stalled at very low speeds (10-IPM). I loosened up all the machine screws that I had to remove, jogged it around a little, then tightened them up. A HUGE improvement. I think I still have some work to do in that regard.

Perhaps shimming nut "brackets" would be helpful. Anyone ever have to shim?