PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Chestnut?

Phillip Bogle
07-25-2008, 10:00 AM
I am new to turning. A friend offered me a downed (3 months) Chestnut tree. Any advice? Is this a typical turning wood? Will it cure nicely or is it a tricky wood to work with?

Any advice is appreciated.

Bob Hallowell
07-25-2008, 10:58 AM
With the Blight that kill the majority of the chestnuts I doubt many here have had the opertunity to turn it. That being said jump on it it might be your only chance. It's a hardwood so it should turn nicely.

Bob

Phillip Bogle
07-25-2008, 2:00 PM
I was unaware of a blight. I live about a mile from the ocean on the north Oregon coast. Our friends have been fighting the saplings that start all the time. Seems the nuts drop every year and we have to battle with the starts scattered everywhere. Is the tree making a comeback somewhere? Do they need saplings?

BTW: It is an old Chestnut and we got the entire thing so along with the apple, cherry, pacific yew and myrtle I guess I will be very busy before too long. We had hurricane force winds at 130mph that took out some very nice trees. So many projects and so little time.:D

Scott Kilroy
07-25-2008, 3:25 PM
check out http://lamar.colostate.edu/~samcox/chestnut.htm

and
http://www.ppws.vt.edu/griffin/accfhab.html

the part of the country you're in isn't the native area for Chestnuts and hasn't been affected by the blight.

charlie knighton
07-25-2008, 3:43 PM
give these people a line on what you have:

http://www.acf.org/

i am sure that they would be interested, the chestnut tree was almost wiped out on the east coast

Gary Max
07-25-2008, 3:58 PM
There is more than one kind of Chestnut tree. The one that was killed off by the blight is a American Chestnut.

Ron Ainge
07-25-2008, 4:29 PM