PDA

View Full Version : Router Bit Manufacturer Preference

Tony West
07-21-2008, 2:53 PM
I am getting ready to build some cabinets for my parent's cabin. I have been browsing the net and this forum to determine which brand of router bits to go with. In my research, it seems to me there are as many opinions on bits as there are manufacturers, maybe even more :). I am even more confused than when I started my bit search.

What makes one bit better than the other, and why are some manufacturers four times the price as others? I will be purchasing a panel raising, rail, stile, drawer lock, and several straight bits. I am a weekend woodworker, and will probably only use the bits for a few small projects after I'm done with the cabin's kitchen.I would like to buy from one manufacturer, and I have it narrowed to the following based on online/forum information...

CMT
Freud
Woodcraft store brand
MCLS

Any history you have on the bits listed above around fit/finish, quality, customer service, and overall performance would be wonderful. By the way, I'll be doing Hickory cabinets, I'm not sure if that makes a difference, but thought I'd throw it out there.

Thanks in advance for the information.

Frank Martin
07-21-2008, 3:24 PM
I have personal experience with Freud (most of my bits), some CMT, and MLCS. Freud and CMT are very good. I heard many praises for Whitesides as well, I will give them a try. My experience with MLCS bits was not good. Essentially trashed them once I compared how Freud/CMT cut compared to MLCS. I should say they are not at the same price point either.

For things like router bits/blades, etc, I prefer to go with proven, well-established brands. Of course there are asian imports which are much cheaper, but typically you get what you pay for with those.

Rick Gooden
07-21-2008, 3:31 PM
I have had excellent results with both Freud and Whiteside and try to limit my purchases to those brands.

Denny Rice
07-21-2008, 3:43 PM