PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Pro with a Versa Laser

Cal Hultgren
07-20-2008, 3:15 AM
I am looking for any member's experience in using a MacBook Pro running a Versa Laser (3.50). I have a 17' MBP with 4 GB of RAM, less than 6' long USB cable and the latest OS X. I have used Bootcamp, Parallels and VMware Fusion, XP SP3, and Vista Pro. My background is with Adobe Illustrator on the Mac and I would like to port those graphics to CorelDraw X4 on the Windows side and laser from there.

This has been my experience::mad:

1. Mac > Parallels (Windows XP Prof SP3) > CorelDraw: sometimes the laser cuts out part way through a job and I get an error message. Sometimes the USB will not reconnect.

2. Mac > Parallels (Vista) > CorelDraw: slower than XP, sometimes the laser cuts out part way through a job and I get an error message. Sometimes the USB will not reconnect.

3. Mac > VMware Fusion (Windows XP Prof SP3) > CorelDraw: less problems than Parallels but still get errors and the laser stops. Sometimes the USB will not reconnect.

4. Mac > VMware Fusion (Vista) > CorelDraw: less problems than Parallels and faster with Vista but still get errors and the laser stops. Sometimes the USB will not reconnect. More of a pain to transfer files from Mac to Vista.

5. Mac > Bootcamp (Windows XP Prof SP3) > CorelDraw: works, but slow shutting down and rebooting to a different operating system. Most consistent results.

I would love to have Mac drivers. Aside from that, scenario 3 would be my second choice. I would like to hear your setup and appraisal of it. :confused:

On a side note, I have only found one USB jack on the MBP to work properly with my Versa, that is the one found on the left hand side, closest to the screen.

Scott Shepherd
07-20-2008, 8:29 AM