PDA

View Full Version : Buying and Cleaning Woodys

Johnny Kleso
07-19-2008, 11:56 PM
I am far from an expert on woodys so if any one can enlighten me please do...

Below is several pics of planes I just won last week..
(drive by gloat)

I was lucky and got this whole lot for $264 delivered

98% of the planes are a very good english maker W. Greenslade Bristol and 98% of the planes are marked with only one owners name Bm (Benjamin) Roberts the other 2% Wm (William) Thomas' name as well This is pretty rare to fine these many one owner planes at least for me

http://stanleytools.home.comcast.net/woody/woody-1.jpg

You can se the Hollows and Round planes have been lighty sanded to remove the dirt.. They looked just like the beading planes and after I applied the Bri-Wax and polished the with a cotton cloth.. I think the transformation is stunning..

http://stanleytools.home.comcast.net/woody/woody-2.jpg

There are five Beading Planes mostly used by Carpenters not cabinet makers from what I read and three Molding planes used by cabinet makers and carpenters

http://stanleytools.home.comcast.net/woody/woody-3.jpg

Home made marking gauges and 2/3s of a Moving Filister Plane Chopped Up and shaped into a rabbit plane..

http://stanleytools.home.comcast.net/woody/woody-4.jpg

http://stanleytools.home.comcast.net/woody/woody-5.jpg

I'll go over what stamps say ..
All but two planes are stamped
W Greenslade Bristol, England. It was a long-live company
(1828-1937) and one of the last to make wooden planes.

The Smoother is makers Henry Thomas Birmigham and Street Address
Trying plane is unstamped execpt Ohio Tool Co. on blade..

About 1/2 Greenslades are stamped Exhibition Medals London 1862 and Dublin1885 this dates the plane to between 1865 and 1880..

Some have a double stamps that says EJ Griffith's Iron Monger Llanelly on the tail with W Greenslade on the toe.. A monger is a Worker so maybe they just made the blades..