PDA

View Full Version : The new delta unisaw?

Greg Karol
07-15-2008, 5:52 PM
I was reading blogs on popular woodworking when I saw this. http://blogs.popularwoodworking.com/editorsblog/Goodbye+Old+Unisaw.aspx

Anyone know anything else about this or when it might come out. The article lists the IWF as a possible release. I was thinking about a new saw for the fall this year and especially with the tool being made in the USA this peaked my interest.

Tommy Emmons
07-15-2008, 6:24 PM
As a relatively new woodworker, I have read a lot about the unisaw and see how everyone seems to covet the older models. Could someone tell me the difference between a hybrid, cabine, and unisaw. I would probably not recognize a unisaw if it bit me in the behind. Thanks in advance for the education.

Lance Norris
07-15-2008, 6:36 PM
As a relatively new woodworker, I have read a lot about the unisaw and see how everyone seems to covet the older models. Could someone tell me the difference between a hybrid, cabine, and unisaw. I would probably not recognize a unisaw if it bit me in the behind. Thanks in advance for the education.

A hybrid tablesaw has a mix of features of the contractors saw and the cabinet saw. It has an enclosed cabinet to help dust collection, but has the lower power rating(1~1/2 horsepower motor,as opposed to 3 hp for a cabinet saw) and requirements(110 volt as opposed to 220 volt for a cabinet saw) of a contractors saw. It may have table mounted trunnions like a contractor, or have cabinet mounted trunnions like a cabinet saw. A hybrid has the motor mounted internally like a cabinet saw. One way to look at a hybrid is, its a light duty cabinet saw. A Unisaw is a cabinet saw, and unless Im incorrect... the first cabinet saw.

John Shuk
07-15-2008, 8:11 PM
I've always been happy with my Delta machinery including my Uni saw.