PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly G0651 Tablesaw Arrives

Mark McGee
07-14-2008, 7:52 PM
Grizzly G0651 Tablesaw Inspection Report
with photos

I have been building furniture off and on for 25 years using hand planes and a Sears tablesaw. I have wanted a cabinet saw and a jointer for a long time, but kept putting it off. I finally decided on the Grizzly G0490 Joiner and the G0651 Tablesaw. I choose Grizzly because of what people here have said about their good customer service.

The jointer came a week ago and the tablesaw came on Friday.

I will provide some coverage of my receipt and initial inspection of the G0651 Tablesaw.

Delivery: UPS freight delivery was without incident and the drivers helped me move the crates to my garage. There was minimal damage to the crates.

Uncrating: Well packaged. Pallet was intact. Initial impression is one of high quality. Fit and finish is good, decals are properly aligned. Outstanding paintwork.

Arbor Runout: Much less than .001" (more like a tenth of a thousandth).

Table Flatness: The table dips .015" in the middle, all around the blade cutout. This was measured with a new 4 foot Starrett straight edge and feeler gauges.

Extension Table Flatness: One end dips .006".

Fence Tube: Arrived with rust on the polished slide surfaces. And the attachment bolts are too short.

Fence: Looks good. Flat and straight.

Operation: I put on a plug and plugged it into 240VAC. It ran smoothly. I did not cut anything because I have the table off. The cast iron handwheels and locking knobs work well and feel good.

Today I notified Grizzly of my findings. They tell me the spec on table flatness is .015" to .020".

I think this saw has potential and I will work with Grizzly to resolve these quality issues with my saw.

Pictures follow.

Mark McGee
07-17-2008, 9:06 PM