PDA

View Full Version : Any Jet 1220VS owners here

Jerry Gerard
07-11-2008, 5:23 PM
I'm looking at this lathe and it seems to be packed with a lot of options for the money . How do you like the lathe and did it meet all your expectations ?
Wood Craft has 10% off day coming up , I should be able to pick this up for $468 . My next pick would be the 1642 VS , with the 10% off it would be $1440 out the door . Since I'm just getting started in turning $970 saved on the smaller 1220 could by a bunch of extras which I need . (tools and such )

robert hainstock
07-11-2008, 5:30 PM
I don't have one, but it would be my choice for an upgrade. I've seen one, and used it . it is so much more versitile than the lower priced model. :)
Bob

Dennis Ford
07-11-2008, 5:38 PM
I have the Jet 1220 (not variable speed), got it about 4 months ago to have something portable and really like it. I have some doubts about the torque of the VS model but otherwise its a great lathe for its size.:D

Brodie Brickey
07-11-2008, 5:50 PM
Jerry,

I can't speak for the 12" swing version of the Jet. I have the Jet Mini with VS. I also have a Powermatic, but got the mini for demo reasons as well as testing. I've been very disappointed with the Jet VS side of things. To me the motor fails to deliver the power of the normal Jet Mini which I've used in classes.

Admittedly, I'm a little heavy handed when turning, I take some heavier cuts than I should, but I stalled it sanding a pen blank. I expect slippage when using a pen mandrel, but it wasn't slipping. Belt tension was fine, etc. The motor whine also sounds like its straining all the time.

Now the mini is a 1/2 hp motor, the 1220 is a 3/4 hp so things might be different, but I'd recommend seeing if you can test drive it. The local woodcraft might be able to put you in touch with someone who has it, or they may have one in the classroom.