PDA

View Full Version : Drawing Curves

John Henry Newman
07-10-2008, 10:49 AM
Hello all,

As a hobbyist, I have only aspired to build things that are straight, flat, and square. As the proud new owner of a Grizzly 0513X2 band saw, I am looking to add some curvature to my work. I am wondering what is available to a guy like me, who has absolutely NO artistic ability at all, to lay out nice, smooth-looking curves?

Thanks for your help in advance!

John Thompson
07-10-2008, 11:06 AM
A set of French curves which are cheap.. a symetrical an asymetrical bow you can either make. LV has some very nice fiber-glass one's that won't lose shape over time but the big plus is the strap and buckle. Allows you to set up the curve almost instantly.

I have been using my own home-made for 37 years but just purchased the LV's. I splurged as my shop and tools have been complete for years now.

Sarge..

Peter Quinn
07-10-2008, 12:29 PM
Check out this months FWW, excellent article on this exact subject. Their pictures are much better than my descriptions. Also has good suggestions on blade types, saw set up, discussion of non regular curves (freehand) vrs true radius or segment curves. Nice intro/synopsis of curved work.

The first step is drawing/design. A french curve is a good start. I have often used a thin bendable stick (1/16" or so) with a little block of steel taped to each end to lay out free form curves. They make a flexible rubber thing for compound curves like a giant ogee too. There is no trick or gadget which can train your eyes to create pleasing flowing curves freehand. Just practice and play till it feels and looks right to you. Its a skill you need to build like any other, some are more intuitive at it than others but it is within your reach.