PDA

View Full Version : Need Opinions On Busted Tenon...

BILL DONAHUE
07-06-2008, 10:35 PM
Finally got back to the PM3520B after about six weeks off and started off with a bust. A busted tenon that is. The piece was labelled as "cocobolo" when bought but I suspect it may be bacote. It's 7 3/4" wide by 3 3/4" high, with a 3/8" tenon. It has a thin crack along the bottom filled with a soft spongy stuff. When I started to hollow it the tenon split along the crack.

What should I have done different and is it possible to rescue it? Is there a guide for how thick the tenon should be for the size of the wood? Thanks.

Bob Hallowell
07-06-2008, 10:49 PM
Bill use what ever you can to reverse chuck it and make the bottom flat the glue a wast block on to make a tenon. and that is definetly cocobolo.

Bob

dave barnhart
07-07-2008, 12:28 AM
I'm just a novice at this, but...

Assumption- you have not hollowed out the bowl. If you can reverse chuck it or mount it on a face plate, then you can 'reshape' the bowl down to where you can make a new tenon. I've had a good amount of experience with that mistake. That and watching my 'glued to waste-stock" pieces fly off.

The size looked good, but that is a lot of mass to be spinning. Definitely use the tail stock to steady it while you finish the outside, and possibly turn some of the inside as well.

As to the imperfection... You can try to clean it out and refill with an epoxy/sawdust mix. I don't think that super-glue would penetrate enough to be effective.

To all: If I'm way out to lunch on this, let me know!

r/s
David

"The difference between amateurs and professionals is that the professional knows how to hide his mistakes better."

Bernie Weishapl
07-07-2008, 9:56 AM