PDA

View Full Version : Yahoo Mail Spam

Rich Konopka
07-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Has any other yahoo mail users noticed a surge in spam (http://realestateundressed.com/2008/07/04/it-appears-yahoo-is-raising-revenue-by-selling-spam/) coming into their inbox? I have been using Yahoo mail for 12 years and it has gotten to the point where I am shucking yahoo mail. Any recommendations on a good email service?

Steven Wilson
07-05-2008, 12:24 PM
I keep a number of yahoo email accounts in order to minimize spam. Most of the accounts are used for news groups or other places where email mining operations occur. If things get out of hand on them I drop them. My real email accounts get very little spam that's because they are only given to humans I trust. I also have my own email consolidator, a C++ program I wrote a long time ago, that consumes my email and delivers it to one of my Outlook inboxes.

To answer your question, all of the other services are similar. You'll get spam if you expose your email address to forms, company response forms, news groups, or forums.

Jim O'Dell
07-05-2008, 1:52 PM
If you need to be able to get email online, I've heard that G-mail from Google is pretty good. I have used Netscape in the past, and am using Thunderbird now that Netscape is leaving the scene. I've never had a problem with spam. Thunderbird has an easy learning scheme so it learns what you consider spam, and what is not. Almost all the advertisements I receive are what I've signed up for. I never use Outlook, except where I have to at work. I hate Outlook. Jim.

Reed Wells
07-05-2008, 3:02 PM
Jim, I have 2 business accounts with yahoo and one free one. Between all three I receive about fifteen hundred emails a day. With my filters I get about thirty that stay in my inbox. The rest go in the spam box and I delete them without looking at them. Both of my business accounts are listed on my websites, but my personal email is shared with only a trusted few.

Craig D Peltier