PDA

View Full Version : Adirondack Chair Pics

Andrew Pezzo
07-02-2008, 8:26 PM
After taking a lot longer than anticpated I finally finished my first non-shop related woodworking project. These chairs are made out of cypress and still need to plug the screw holes (wouldnt you know it - I buy a #8 drill/countersink bit from sears and none of thier plug cutters fit the holes, plugs are to big). Also havent decided if I want to put a sealer on them. My wife likes the aged look and I want them looking like new for a long time.

Being a novice I decided to make a prototype out of pine I had laying around since some of my early projects didnt go so well (if you search for one of my first posts on this site you will know what I mean). For all the curved parts I made templates out of mdf. Once I got the templates just right I rough cut the cypress on a bandsaw and them cleaned up the edges with router and template attached to cypress. All the seat slats, back slats, and arms were routed with roundover bit. I like the template idea as I can make more much faster.

The chairs are very comfortable. The supports for the back have a slight curve as does the section of the back legs were the seat slats lay. And the best part is they are not as low to the ground as some. Since I plan to have these for a long time I want to be able to get out of them as I get older.

Even though there are some flaws I am very proud of these. Like I said, I am complete novice and being able to complete a project like this, even though I used a plan and dont consider these to be very difficult compared to some of of things I want to make, its very satisfying. And they are done just in time for the holiday weekend.

Richard Wolf
07-02-2008, 8:29 PM
Nice job, they look great.

Richard

Joe Mioux
07-02-2008, 8:52 PM
I like them! well done!

joe

Gordy Anderson
07-02-2008, 8:53 PM
Very nice. Where did you get your plans?

Dewey Torres
07-02-2008, 8:56 PM
Flaws???

Didn't find any here!

Dewey