PDA

View Full Version : Another jointer question.

zach barnhart
07-02-2008, 1:04 PM
This has probably been gone over a million times, and I beg your pardon if it has. Looking at a couple of Jointers on CL, both on the lower-end. One is a Grizzly 6" w/some extra blades for 225.00. The other is a Harbor Freight 6" for 75.00. Both appear in similar (ie, good) condition. The question is, all things being equal, is the Grizzly likely to be suffinciently superior as to justify the extra cost? Or are we talking shades of grey in terms of quality between these two? My sense based on the usual Google/Sawmill Creek research is that they're both quite adequate.

Thanks!

Dennis Lopeman
07-02-2008, 1:10 PM
Maybe a half a million!!! ;)

I think the consensus is that HF is good for tools that do NOT require precission (sp?)... like a screw driver or hammer is fine - but don't think I would trust a jointer from HF

I have no knowledge of Grizzly... but would be inclined to choose it over HF, as they do "specialize" in wood working equipment.

Jerome Hanby
07-02-2008, 1:12 PM
If you got the grizzly and decided to move on to something else, I bet it would be easier to get you money out of it than the HF

glenn bradley
07-02-2008, 1:29 PM
HF has diamonds in the rough. Power tools generally aren't one of them. Precision tools definitely aren't one of them. I would go Griz. Jointers do many things but have one primary job; make a surface flat. The quality of this surface will effect whatever else you do as you would use it as your reference surface. JMHO.

Alan Schwabacher
07-02-2008, 1:43 PM
Grizzly is definitely a better brand, and makes several 6" jointers that currently sell from $365 to $795. Extra knives are useful. $225 is probably a reasonable price, but depending on which one it is, could be an excellent price. All the current Grizzly 6" jointers have closed bases and are likely substantially more solid than the HF.