PDA

View Full Version : Help me Salvage a 9" Delta BS

Jose Kilpatrick
07-01-2008, 2:15 PM
I have a BS100 shop master bandsaw by delta that I purchased over a year ago. The unit is no longer functional. I always had a hard time getting the blade to track correctly and I couldnt cut a straight line freehand or with the aide of a fence. In my last attempt at tuning the thing up, I broke the blade tension mechanism. I have not looked to see if I could purchase the part yet becuase frankly, I've never been satisfied with the bandsaw in the least bit. The only usefulness I have gained from it was nibbling away waste out of notches, or cutting small stock that wasnt safe to cut on a table saw.

I have considered salvaging some of the parts for other projects such as the power switch, the motor, the light, etc.

At first, I wanted to use the motor to build a air cleaner, but I'm not sure it would be worthwhile considering what I could buy an attic fan for new.

Does anyone have any reccomendations aside from placing this thing out with the trash?

Bob Aquino
07-01-2008, 6:04 PM
Put it on Craigslist. Just mention it needs some tuning...

Barry Vabeach
07-01-2008, 8:26 PM
I had the same saw and broke the same part. I then fixed it and sold it on ebay ( with full disclosure of the repair ) and got my money back on the blades I had purchased and maybe a little for the saw itself.

David G Baker
07-01-2008, 9:45 PM
Not sure if your band saw is similar to mine, mine is a 12 inch Delta and they no longer make parts for the saw so I am out of luck unless I buy the same model band saw and take parts off of it. Didn't like the saw from the start so I will do as suggested, list it on Ebay or Craigslist with full disclosure.

Jose Kilpatrick
02-02-2009, 5:13 PM
finnally got around to finding and ordering the part.
Costs 10% of the original purchase price of the saw.

http://www.ereplacementparts.com/images/part_1341598.gif

Jose Kilpatrick
02-08-2009, 9:01 PM