PDA

View Full Version : Tire Recommendations Needed for

Bob Moyer
06-30-2008, 8:05 AM
2005 Tacoma 4x4; need to replace the factory issues Yokohoma's which lasted to 40K; looking for replacements; no off-roading but I do live in PA and need to deal with the occassional snow.

Joe Pelonio
06-30-2008, 8:09 AM
I like the BFG Longtrail T/A as long as you don't mind a slight amount of road noise compared to highway tires. Made it through 6" of fresh snow with them.

Chuck Wintle
06-30-2008, 8:13 AM
2005 Tacoma 4x4; need to replace the factory issues Yokohoma's which lasted to 40K; looking for replacements; no off-roading but I do live in PA and need to deal with the occassional snow.

I could recommend Toyo tires as they are very good quality. I have had them on my car for the lat 5 years with no problems whatsoever.

Ken Fitzgerald
06-30-2008, 8:40 AM
Bob,

I've been running Toyo tires for 20 years or more on my SUVs, my pickup and my wifes Honda Accord. The only time I have not gotten the guaranteed mileage out of them is when they were on the vehicle for more years than I cared and were starting to show "aging " cracks and I replaced them with more Toyos.

Bob Moyer
06-30-2008, 8:51 AM
I could recommend Toyo tires as they are very good quality. I have had them on my car for the lat 5 years with no problems whatsoever.

What model? Toyos are you using, a local tire distributor recommended a Fortera for my truck.

Chuck Wintle
06-30-2008, 9:07 AM
What model? Toyos are you using, a local tire distributor recommended a Fortera for my truck.

I am using Toyo 800 Ultra all-season tires. These tires have proven to be durable and tough, given the road quality here in Montreal, they have held up well. The Fortera is a tire made by Goodyear though so not too sure about those. On the Toyo website there are several models that may suit your driving needs. And if you buy Toyo's I would check the place of manufacture to get ones made in Japan.

Pat Germain
06-30-2008, 12:12 PM