PDA

View Full Version : Critique Requested on Hollow Form

Ken Vonk
06-26-2008, 9:09 PM
This is my latest project. Please give me your honest opinion. What would you do different and why? The hollow form is Maple Burl with "bright red inlace" from Woodcraft in the larger voids. It measures approximately 5 1/2" tall and 4 1/4" in diameter. The opening is 1" in diameter and the base is about 1 3/8" in diameter. The wall thickness starts at 1/8" at the opening and gradually increases to 1/4" on the sides and 1/2" at the bottom. The lid with finial is made from black claro walnut, is 2 1/2" tall and 2" in diameter at it's widest. Both are finished with 4 coats of satin wipe on poly. I'm very new to this and can use all the help I can get. Would you suggest buffing when dry?

Thanks,

Ken

George Guadiane
06-26-2008, 10:00 PM
I don't see anything to be dishonest about.
Nice form, the finish looks even and the finial is right for the piece.

Bruce Pennell
06-26-2008, 10:04 PM
Ken it looks great, nice shape, great form. I like the red inlace, everything looks great...Bruce

Bill Bolen
06-26-2008, 10:11 PM
I really wish I could offer some constructive advice but..........it's just plain beautiful! I don't think ot can get any better! Way to go...Bill...

Steve Schlumpf
06-26-2008, 11:18 PM
Ken, this is a very nice looking hollow form! Beautiful wood and lots of color! I can tell you put a lot of time into creating this and it shows!

As for a critique: The finish looks great with no obvious tear outs or burnished areas. The form itself has a nice continuous curve from the shoulder to the foot with no flat spots. The finial has very nice details, is beautiful wood and it's design fits the style of the hollow form.