PDA

View Full Version : TS Wiring Question

Jay Yoder
06-26-2008, 8:44 PM
I am in the midst of installing a 40a bkr in my sub panel to run my Jet 5hp TS. The sub panel is an 100a SQ D QO line MLO. I was looking at the panel and had a thought...Insert pun here...anyhow...I am wondering if it matters if the new bkr is installed at the top (slots 2&4) or in the next available slots. I would figure it would not matter, but i am no electrician. I can "easily" relocate the other breakers to allow installing the TS at the top of the bus bar if it matters...any thoughts? Thanks for your input.

Jim Mattheiss
06-26-2008, 8:55 PM
I'm no electrician.

I read that 2 pole breakers should be as close to the main breaker as possible.

That's worth what you paid for it! ;)

I'm sure someone will chime in.

Jim

jerry nazard
06-26-2008, 9:17 PM
Jay,

I would install the breaker in the next available set of slots.

-Jerry

David Freed
06-27-2008, 4:47 AM
I am no electrician either. I think if it was more dangerous, less efficient, etc, to put it in one slot compared to another, there would be warnings on the panel.
I have a 100 amp 2 pole breaker installed near the bottom of my 200 amp service panel and it is working fine. It runs my phase converter, if you are wondering.

David G Baker
06-27-2008, 7:59 AM
I don't know if it makes a difference either but I try my best to put my breakers in line in the next available slot or slots. Once in a while I don't have any options due to needing a 220v set of slots.

Mike Cutler
06-27-2008, 8:37 AM