PDA

View Full Version : Cabinet Drawer Slides?

Jim Bossie
06-24-2008, 9:24 AM
I am a novice woodworker, and I want to build a cabinet with a drawer. I found the slide that I would like to use... (An Accuride Full Extension Slide)... the thing that has me perplexed is the Side Space that is needed.

Their website tech sheet states a required Side Space of .89" +.03" / - .0"

That comes out to 57/64",,, how can anyone get that accurate of a measurement?

Is there an easy way to achieve the Side distance required between the carcass and the drawer?

Is there a website online that will show how to do this?

Thank you,

Jim

David Giles
06-24-2008, 10:25 AM
As a fellow novice woodworker, welcome to world of installing drawer slides. You can spend days on this topic.

Your specs are correct. A typical side mount drawer slide is +1/32" / minus zero inch accuracy. The 0.89" total seems a little odd. 1/2" each side is normal. But drawers and cabinets are an exercise in building perfectly flat, square and dimensioned boxes for both the drawer and case. Good woodworkers with good tools can easily achieve +/- 1/32" accuracy and perfectly fitting drawers.

The rest of us learn how to shim. Give yourself an extra 1/32" overall and apply masking tape until the drawer fits perfectly into the cabinet.

Dave Tinley
06-24-2008, 10:32 AM
As David said, they can be a little tricky, but if you will allow 1/2" on each side you should do fine. The slides have tabs on the cabinet side which you can bend outward a slight amount incase your drawer is alittle smaller then what you wanted. the main thing is making sure your drawers are as square as possible.

Dave

Jim Bossie
06-24-2008, 10:37 AM
As a fellow novice woodworker, welcome to world of installing drawer slides. You can spend days on this topic.