PDA

View Full Version : Rip 1x4s or use 1x2s?

Rob Blaustein
06-20-2008, 9:52 PM
I need to make some aprons for a set of upper kitchen cabinets and was planning to make them 1 1/2 inches wide (3/4" stock). The cabinets are painted white and we bought some matching paint for the aprons (and some end panels that I'll make later). Two questions:

1. Would you prime and paint a 1x4 and rip it into 1.5" strips or buy 1x2s (eg 3/4 by 1 1/2), prime and paint those, and not have to worry about sawing. My thought was that it would be easier to paint (and sand) one 1x4 than two 1.5" strips.

2. I finally took the plunge and bought a sprayer (Earlex 5000) since I will need to paint several more panels and I've gotten tired of trying to roll or brush a big panel. I have no experience with sprayers so don't have a feel for how much of a pain the setup and cleaning will be. If you had a sprayer would you use it for this purpose or just brush? The cabinet doors and drawers have a very nice smooth finish, probably sprayed at the factory.

--Rob

Gary Herrmann
06-20-2008, 10:07 PM
With Borg 1x or 2x material, I'd buy wider and rip. You should be able to be selective to avoid most of the twist etc if you're cutting for kitchen cabinet size.

Pete Stack
06-20-2008, 10:18 PM
With Borg 1x or 2x material, I'd buy wider and rip. You should be able to be selective to avoid most of the twist etc if you're cutting for kitchen cabinet size.

Agreed. Rip and plane so you know you've got straight, square stock to work with. The time you take to square everything up will be time saved trying to make stock that isn't true look good.

You'll probably save on aspirin, too, since working with wood from a borg without squaring it up will only get you headaches.

Howard Acheson
06-20-2008, 10:59 PM