PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Jim Onofrio
06-19-2008, 11:25 PM
Hey everyone,

My name is Jim, and I just joined this forum yesterday. I'm relatively new at woodworking, and just from browsing through some of the past threads, I feel I've opened up an encyclopedia of information. I just finished a small picture frame project that I actually think I did a decent job with!:D I have a small shop (144 sq/ft) so I'm somewhat limited to doing small projects, which is fine for now. I do have a question though, I was wondering what the general opinion is on Ridgid power tools? Over the last 6 months, I've acquired the Ridgid 14" Bandsaw, 6 1/8" jointer/planer, and the 2410LS table saw. I did a lot of research online, and read a lot of different reviews, and they all seemed favorable on these machines. So far, they all seem to work just fine, but that's to an inexperienced eye. I welcome any thoughts, advice, or opinions. Thanks!

ps: here's the frame I made if anyone's interested

Denny Rice
06-19-2008, 11:42 PM
Jim,

Welcome to the creek! :)

gary Zimmel
06-20-2008, 12:22 AM
Welcome to the Creek Jim...

Gary Breckenridge
06-20-2008, 12:29 AM
Welcome to the Creek.:DYou will do well with the Ridgid tools.

NICK BARBOZA
06-20-2008, 12:38 AM
nice work Jim. Ridgid tools will serve you well for quite a while. I own both the bandsaw and the Jointer. They work well for what they are. I like the bandsaw alot but have been somewhat disappointed with the jointer. But as with most things, it is all relative to it's price tag.

Good luck,
Nick

Ken Fitzgerald
06-20-2008, 6:27 AM
Welcome to the Creek Jim! Like most manufacturers...some Ridgid tools are pretty good...some....well....

I have the TS3650 t/s and their thickness planer. They have both served me well.

John Keeton
06-20-2008, 6:42 AM
Jim, Welcome!

Can't offer anything on Rigid tools, but on the picture frame - really nice project. The style is great, well balanced, and good work generally.