PDA

View Full Version : Used TS delivered today....now what?

Chris Leacock
06-19-2008, 4:11 PM
Hi everyone,

This is my first post to the forums and I'll warn you up front that I'm an extreme novice. I've made one tiny table for my 3yr old and that's it. So if I ask stupid questions hopefully you'll be gentle. :D

Anyway, I just bought my first cabinet saw ('89 Powermatic 66) off of ebay and had it delivered today. My question is, before I use it what should I do to make sure it performs as well as it possibly can? Clean it? Wax the table? Check this or that? Etc...

As I said, I'm really new so I'd like to hear about it all!

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Chris

scott spencer
06-19-2008, 4:15 PM
...Clean it? Wax the table? Check this or that? Etc...

Congrats Chris! Nice saw! Do the above, wax the fence rail, clean and lubricate the elevation and bevel gears with candle wax or white lithium grease (something that doesn't attract sawdust), check the blade to miter slot alignment, align the fence to the miter slot, check the belt tension, get yourself a good blade or three, and a zero clearance insert. You might also need some featherboards and push sticks. A TS book is a good idea too....Jim Tolpin's or Kelly Mehler's are popular.

Lee Schierer
06-19-2008, 4:34 PM
I agree completely. You'll be much more satisfied with your saw if you take the time now to do a really good alignment. For about $20 you can get a dial indicator from Harbor Freight that will make this job considerably easier and more accurate than most other methods. You can mount the dial indicator to a block of wood with a wood screw and clamp the block to your miter gauge. This will let you align both the blade and the fence to the miter gauge slot.