PDA

View Full Version : New to this forum

lynn smith
06-18-2008, 8:55 PM
Hi fellow woodworkers.
I have been cruising in the background for sometime.
I have enjoyed everyones projects and have gleaned
some good info.
I have been turning now for 7 months and am completely hooked on turning.
It is amazing what is revealed when you begin removing wood.
I have a bowl that I wanted to share.
It is made of Red Alder (alnus rubra) 8"H X 14" dia.
I used walnut oil on it which seems to work well on the alder.
I have also been turning Broad Leaf Maple, Port Orford Cedar, Myrtlewood, and Western Juniper, (which is the most enjoyable to work with because of the wonderful fragrance and the tight grain.)
Thanks for the opportunity to share a bowl.
I will work on sizing down my pictures.
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=90971&stc=1&d=1213835963

Bill Bolen
06-18-2008, 9:05 PM
Great work Lynn and welcome to the forum! I know you will find great people here, more than willing to share...Bill...

Toney Robertson
06-18-2008, 9:52 PM
Very nice.

You will probably get conflicting comments about the foot you put on it but I think it works.

Toney

Ken Fitzgerald
06-18-2008, 10:13 PM
Welcome to the Creek Lynn! You've been holding out on us! Nice bowl. I like the foot.

David Wilhelm
06-18-2008, 10:20 PM
Welcome Lynn, very nice bowl thank you for sharing. Woodturing is very adicting, it makes me not want to go to work every day and head back to the shop. One of these days I may just do that:)

Steve Schlumpf
06-18-2008, 11:04 PM
Lynn - Welcome to the Creek! Really like your bowl! Very nice form and great color! Looking forward to seeing more of your work real soon!

Dennis Peacock
06-19-2008, 12:10 AM
Welcome to the Creek Lynn..!!!!! Oh...and welcome to The Vortex!!!!!! :D

lynn smith
06-19-2008, 12:55 AM
Thanks for the greeting and the feed back.
I like this forum.

I know you will find great people here, more than willing to share

Bill I believe you're correct