PDA

View Full Version : What size, type of Jointer to buy?

Brian Tax
06-17-2008, 4:12 PM
I am new to the SMC, but have found there is some very good stuff here.

I am a hobbyist and I currently have a Craftsman 6" bench top Jointer, I get mixed results especially with longer stock. I am looking to by a bigger, better Jointer. First off what size? I am thinking at least 8", but I could probably swing a cheaper 12" from Grizzly or a Jointer/Planer combo machine from Jet or Grizzly. How do people like those combo machines? Also I am concerned that it will be too big and heavy for what I need, but it sure would be nice to have 12". I have a two car garage shop. I live in Seattle so I am fairly close to the Grizzly store here, how do people like the Grizzly brand and their Jointers, they are so much better on price than anyone else. Any other Jointer advice would be appreciated.

Thanks, Brian

Ben Cadotte
06-17-2008, 4:21 PM
If you have the room, and cashola for it. I would say pic a 12" from a company you trust and don't look back. I only have had 1 Griz machine and it was their cheap 14" saw. I had issues with the finish of the tool, but it worked fine. This was 20 years ago, and their quality has gone up quite a bit since then. And again it was their least expensive bandsaw.

I currently have a 6", and unless I find a really good deal on a used 8" (really good deal!). I am holding out for a 12".

I am not a fan of the combo machines. I tend to go from one machine to another. With a combo. Need to prioritize a little better, because if you don't. You will be spending alot of time converting the machine back and forth. That doesn't appeal to me. So having to wait to afford 2 seperate machines is worth it to me.

The G0609, and G0609X appeal to me quite a bit. Those would be my choices from Griz.

Matt Ocel
06-17-2008, 4:25 PM
Brian -

I asked the same question a couple months ago. Most will say get the biggest you can afford.