PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Cole Jaws

Dave Rudy
06-14-2008, 10:18 PM
Since I'm a novice turner, I wanted to get some more experienced views about Cole jaws.

I had two small bowls blow up today using Cole Jaws (the last step in the process, unfortunately that even included sanding and finishing. :confused::(

Is this a normal occurrence? Is there a preferred way to hold a bowl for the final removal of the foot or whatever held the bottom in the chuck?

I was turning at about 1000, trying to take small cuts (although I suspect I had a catch both times).

The third try worked fine, but 1 out of 3 is a bad ratio!

Thanks

robert hainstock
06-14-2008, 10:37 PM
one way to avoid the blowup is ti use the live center on the back side, remove, as you said, carefully as much wood as you can from the tenon, and then I use a sharp carving tool to cut through the last 1/4 in or so. :)
Bob

Ralph Lindberg
06-14-2008, 11:33 PM
Dave, I think part of the problem is speed.

Both of my Cole jaws say 800 RPM (MAX), your ~1000 might be an issue.

Bernie Weishapl
06-14-2008, 11:43 PM
I run my cole jaws at 500 to 600. Tailstock up until you get down to the last detail.

Norm Zax
06-15-2008, 2:27 AM
One word: Doughnut
here's one example: http://azwoodturners.org/DoughnutChuck.pdf

Gordon Seto
06-15-2008, 6:07 AM
IMO, the Cole Jaws is the less effective way of reverse chucking. People have more airborne using Cole jaws than any other method.
It has limitation on the rim design and can't be used on natural edge or when the bowl is out of round.
Reduce your speed and get some insurance. Use some tape or stretch wrap to wrap around the edge of the bowl and between the slots of the jaws to prevent it from launching after you remove the tailstock. Take every light cuts and use the tailstock as much as you can.

I like friction jam chuck. It is fast, easy. Just save the center point before reversing.