PDA

View Full Version : Veritas plane blades

Yolanda Kirkland
06-14-2008, 8:27 PM
I recently bought the bevel up smoothing and bevel up jack plane from Lee Valley. The instructions said the back of the blades didn't need anything done to them, just sharpen the bevel. I am a new woodworker and from all of my reading I thought you needed to prepare the back of a new blade and then sharpen the blade. Can this process be skipped on the Veritas blades? Thanks in advance for any opinions. By the way the blade was really sharp right out of the box, my beginner efforts did get a couple of nice curls from my first try.

Mike Henderson
06-14-2008, 8:47 PM
LV claims they machine the back of their blades FLAT. I think I recall them saying that you're more likely to make things worse if you try to flatten them. I'd take them at their word.

The problem is that the back needs to be smooth more than it needs to be flat. If there's any machining marks, you'll have to lap it.

Mike

Michael Faurot
06-14-2008, 8:48 PM
I recently bought the bevel up smoothing and bevel up jack plane from Lee Valley.

I've also got the bevel up Jack, and like it. The bevel up smoother is next on my wish list.

The instructions said the back of the blades didn't need anything done to them, just sharpen the bevel. I am a new woodworker and from all of my reading I thought you needed to prepare the back of a new blade and then sharpen the blade. Can this process be skipped on the Veritas blades?
The Veritas blades come in pretty good shape and shouldn't require much done to them. It won't hurt anything to run the back of the blade nearest the edge, over a fine stone several times. If you wind up with a uniform pattern across the width and out to the edge--it's flat. If you see some spots that the stone didn't catch, then double check that your stone is flat. If the stone is flat, then the back of your blade isn't.

Gary Herrmann
06-14-2008, 9:43 PM