PDA

View Full Version : Another Differnt Motorcycle question

Paul Greathouse
06-11-2008, 9:30 PM
I'm looking for some advice on a first street bike to learn on. I have ridden dirt bikes as kid but never a larger street bike. I'm 6'5" tall and wiegh 245lbs.

I eventually want a nice larger bike but I don't want it to be my first bike because I'm sure I'll have some minor mishaps and don't want to tear up an expensive bike while learning.

So, considering my size, give me some advice on which and what size bike would be a good first/learner bike that would still have decent resell value if I don't tear it up too bad.

Oh, Uh, also, please put me on a big enough bike so that I won't look like a gorilla riding a tricycle.

Guy Roland
06-11-2008, 9:52 PM
Paul, I've been riding for almost 40 years. I've owned Harleys, Suzukis, Yamahas and Hondas and never owned a bike I didn't like. My first bike was a 1969 Harley Electra Glide when I bought it I had never been on a motorcycle in my life. I learned to ride on that bike and never laid it down. My sugestion to you is find the bike you are comfortable on and would be happy with. The biggest problem with learning to ride is starting and stopping and your plenty big enough to have no problems with that. The bigger the bike the easier it is to ride. Just relax take your time practice to build up your confidence and drive defensively. The one piece of advice I would give any new rider is "always leave yourself an out". Good Luck

mark page
06-11-2008, 10:12 PM
Paul,