PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Japanese Chisel Question

Michael O'Sullivan
06-10-2008, 7:02 PM
If you grind the chisel to the point that you start to run into the hollow in the back, is it "sayonara" to the chisel? Or is there something obvious I am missing?

Mike Henderson
06-10-2008, 7:48 PM
I'm far from an expert on Japanese chisels but from what I understand there are two ways to deal with the problem.

The first is to grind the back down in the same fashion that you would flatten the back of the chisel. As you grind the back down, you're making the hollow less deep and you'll have a straight front edge.

The second technique involves tapping on the top front edge of the chisel with a hammer to push the metal downward, making the front of the hollow less deep.

I've never used the hammer technique so I can't give you any tips. People have told me that there's a risk of fracturing the hard steel in the edge when using that method. Maybe someone who knows more will comment.

Mike

David DeCristoforo
06-10-2008, 10:20 PM
Can't add much to what Mike said except that the "tapping" method is usually reserved for plane blades and larger chisels. With smaller chisels the backs are usually just reground. Eventually, whatever the size of the blade, this will "thin" the hard steel layer so tapping out the edge is the preferred method. If you want to try this I can give you some direction but it would be best to practice on a "cheapo" blade because, as Mike pointed out, you can crack the hard steel if you hit the bevel in the wrong spot or hit it too hard.

Mark Singer
06-11-2008, 12:22 AM
I don't hollow Grind Japanese chisels, I flat grind them with waterstones, Curved meeting curved doesn't work well

Derek Cohen
06-11-2008, 1:02 AM
If you grind the chisel to the point that you start to run into the hollow in the back, is it "sayonara" to the chisel? Or is there something obvious I am missing?