PDA

View Full Version : Dust-Bee-Gone vs Trend

David Wilhelm
06-09-2008, 6:25 PM
I know that there are several post on Respirators and it seems that again the more you spend the more you get. My question is, at what dollar amount does lung protection start or stop. I have seen prices from as little as 13.00 on up to as much as 800.00. I've read reviews on some of these "air-flow" units and admit that the air would feel nice and create a preasure area to prevent some outside dust introduction. Having a beard I'm drawn to this dust-bee-gone mask used by some of you here and see that it's rated: Effective down to 3 microns. Not NIOSH or OSHA approved. It does not apear that Trend is an apprved respirator but I coudl be wrong on this. The stats on one page read : Filters ALL particulates! I find this hard to believe, I'm no expert but my thinking is this. ALL is a very big three letter word. and If it was a fact it would seem that there would be a NIOSH or OSHA approval on the same page with the rest of this advertisment. I'm in no way knocking this product. But I'm not interested in buying bells and whistles or a cool breeze for my face. I'm interested in what i'm inhaling and what my money is buying. I also understand about comfort. if you dont like it you wont wear it. I've been wearing fiber mask and i don't trust them. If I'm to be sold on buying a Trend. How long do the fliters last? Thanks for you input.

CW McClellan
06-09-2008, 7:03 PM