PDA

View Full Version : Another Compressor Question?

Arturo Villegas
06-07-2008, 9:15 PM
Hello,

I am just getting into sandblasting and I am seeing I am going to need a bigger compressor (80 gallon) but all the good ones are runnig on 220V. I was thinking of running it of a generator to avoid running cable ( just an excuse to buy a generator) and dealing with electrical issues.

Do any of you folks run any machines of a generator all day/everyday or at least 2-3 hours a day?

Thanks,

Gary Max
06-07-2008, 9:20 PM
Why not just run the compressor with a gas motor??????

Roy Harding
06-07-2008, 9:27 PM
Hello,

I am just getting into sandblasting and I am seeing I am going to need a bigger compressor (80 gallon) but all the good ones are runnig on 220V. I was thinking of running it of a generator to avoid running cable ( just an excuse to buy a generator) and dealing with electrical issues.

Do any of you folks run any machines of a generator all day/everyday or at least 2-3 hours a day?

Thanks,

I have an 80 gal 220V 1Ph compressor. When it first arrived I didn't yet have power to the shop - so I hooked it up to my 5600 watt generator. It constantly tripped the 20 amp breaker on the genny (compressor said it only drew 15 amps) - if I kept switching the breaker back on until the compressor came up to speed, it worked great - but it constantly tripped that breaker on startup.

When I eventually got power to the shop and wired the compressor, it became clear that it needs a "delay" breaker - the initial startup of the compressor caused enough temporary draw of amperage that a "normal" breaker couldn't handle it.

Your mileage may vary.

I like the gasoline powered compressor idea for your situation.

Arturo Villegas
06-08-2008, 3:40 AM
Uh, never taught of that( with gas prices right now). Its worth a taught. How reliable are gas operated compressors?

Tom Veatch
06-08-2008, 4:39 AM