PDA

View Full Version : Blow Gun

Lori Kleinberg
06-07-2008, 12:58 PM
I need to get one of these for my compressor. Remembering I am a complete noob when it comes to this compressor business :rolleyes:, what do I need to get? I know Lowes has an aisle of compressor accessories, so do I just go there and buy the gun and attach it to my compressor. In other words, do I need connectors or does that come with the gun or does it just fit on the hose :o :confused:.
Oh yeah, the compressor came with a small roll of tape(teflon, I think). What is that for?

Rob Grubbs
06-07-2008, 1:05 PM
Lori,
Most attachments do not come with a quick detach nipple that is needed to attach it to the air line. You will also need to buy one that fits your quick detach. The teflon tape is used to wrap around the treads so you get a good seal on the fitting.

Richard Wolf
06-07-2008, 1:08 PM
First, you can just connect it to the hose, the threads should match, but the best way is to use quick disconnects, male and female, so different tools can easily be changed. Put the female disconnect on the hose and the male on your tool so your compressor tank doesn't empty on every tool change.
The teflon tape goes on the threads to stop leaks, one wrap around the threads is enough.

Richard

Rich Engelhardt
06-07-2008, 2:13 PM
Hello Lori,
Go to Lowes or HD and buy a "kit".

They usually have a kit with a couple of quick connects, tire inflator and blow gun for ~ $20.00.
On you way to the register, stop in plumbing and pick up some teflon tape. It's ~ $1.00 for a roll of the good stuff.
My "kit" came with some tape that was next to useless.

Tip: make sure the quick connects are brass, not chrome plated.
Brass ones usually don't leak. The chrome plated ones usually do leak.

If there's a Harbor Freight close by, you can also check them out.
Their prices are about half of what the borg charges, for what's pretty much the same thing.

Dale Lesak
06-07-2008, 2:47 PM