PDA

View Full Version : Compressor-pressure release

Lori Kleinberg
06-06-2008, 11:19 AM
My sons just got me the Bostitch CPACK3(stealth gloat:D). This contains a 6 gallon oil-free compressor and a framing nailer, brad nailer and stapler. This was actually the system I wanted, but the directions/instructions leave alot to be desired :(. I am a complete newbie when it comes to compressors :eek:.
My question is 'If I pull out the pressure release value, should it stay out or should it pop back in when I release it':confused:
Any other tips would be appreciated.

Troy Donson
06-06-2008, 11:42 AM
Lori,

If what you are referring to is a brass "valve", with a small "pin" on top and a ring through it, then yes it should be spring loaded so that it stays closed.

This is, as you said, a pressure relief valve. If for some reason the pressure in the tank should go up beyond a predetermined pressure this valve will open to vent the excess pressure. Otherwise the spring keeps the valve seated so you don't have an air leak.

I hope this helps

Troy

Lori Kleinberg
06-06-2008, 12:10 PM
Thanks Troy. I guess this means it has to go back to the store:mad:

Troy Donson
06-06-2008, 12:46 PM
Ok so by your reply, I take it it stays out instead of springing back onto it's seat?

I have had this happen before on brand new compressors before. One thing you can check is to see if a drop (and I mean 1 Drop!!) of oil (not wd-40) right where the top of the valve and the body of the valve meets to see if an o-ring may just be a bit dry... Worth a shot.