PDA

View Full Version : "stickiness" of finer waterstones.....

Tim Sproul
04-11-2004, 11:56 AM
I'm a newbie. I've only been seriously at woodworking for a bit less than a year now.....and I started with scary sharp for sharpening irons and chisels but have found water stones.

got a ? though. I have a 3000x stone from Japan woodworker, the yellow one. The problem or question I have is that when I use this stone for lapping, I get problems with the chisel or iron "sticking" to the stone.....probably something like a vacuum effect. This occurs after only a few strokes....3 or 4 total going back and forth.

So, what do I do? It is a pain because it makes keeping the back flat on the stone difficult.

Tom Scott
04-11-2004, 4:49 PM
Tim,
If it's sticking that bad, then it probably means that the back of your iron is already flat. The only good thing about flattening the back of a blade is that you should only have to do it once, unless you sharpen past the flattened area.
If you are just trying to get the back polished for the first time and it's sticking, the only thing I've found that helps is using more water on the stone. Maybe someone else will chime in with another suggestion.

Tom

Richard Gillespie
04-11-2004, 9:48 PM
When I used water stones I encountered the same problem. More water does help. I've now gone back to scary sharp system.

Just a thought, though I'm not familiar with the brand stone you are using, in order to get a mirror polish you may need to go as high as a 8,000 grit.

Gary Bingham
04-12-2004, 12:20 AM
Maybe you need a nagura stone. According to this (http://japanwoodworker.com/page.asp?content_id=2817):

Nagura Stones create this “mud” before honing begins, thus speeding up the polishing process. In addition, the Nagura Stone makes the stone surface slippier, keeping the tool from sticking.

Tim Sproul
04-12-2004, 7:11 PM
thanks guys,

I'll try to keep more water on the stone.