PDA

View Full Version : Which spokeshave to get?

Tom Wiarda
05-29-2008, 8:23 PM
Father's day is coming up and I might drop a hint for a new spokeshave. Has anyone had experience with either the LN Boggs or the LV Veritas shaves? The LV model has screw-type adjustment and shims to adjust the mouth opening. The LN model has manual adjustment and a tighter mouth. I admire Brian Boggs work and am making one of his rocking chairs now. I have a Stanley 151 and a Kunz which I have used a lot but would like to try a nicer one. I work a lot with green wood making chairs. If you have an opinion about either of these shaves please share it. Thanks.

Don C Peterson
05-29-2008, 10:20 PM
I'm no expert on this subject, I only have one spokeshave which happens to be the LN with the flat sole. I bought it for a specific project and I really like it. Adjusting the blade depth might be easier with a screw type adjuster, but after a couple of tries I was able to get the LN adjusted perfectly.

Michael Faurot
05-29-2008, 11:09 PM
Awhile back I acquired a complete set of Veritas spoke shaves (flat, round and concave). I can't say that I'm an expert with spoke shaves, as these are the first and only ones I've ever used. They all certainly seem to work very nicely, were ready to go to work out of the box and take fine shavings.

John Thompson
05-30-2008, 12:00 AM
I have a LV I used just to-night, Tom. I have used the Boggs at Highland WW here in Atlanta. If you use them one after the other.. you notice a bit different feel in both due to the design. But both are just matter of getting used too. I think you would be happy with either as I know I would.

Good luck...

Sarge..

Brian Kent
05-30-2008, 12:20 AM
I apologize that these are not as expensive, but here are the spokeshaves I use most often:

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=46321&cat=1,41182,46334

I also made the Lee Valley kit and fixed up a metal stanley knock-off, but I use the "2 for $24.50" rosewood tools more.