PDA

View Full Version : Keep my Union 8 or Stanley 7 ?

James K Peterson
05-28-2008, 1:05 PM
I'm really new to hand tool use, and I haven't even gotten to the point where I really use the jointers yet... But, since I jumped down the slope and ended up with *many* planes (which I'm now trying to cull down) and I'm not sure which plane I should keep for use :confused:

Do they have significant differences in use? I'm kind of leaning toward keeping the no7 just because it's already sharp (thanks to a fellow Creeker). I'm doing mostly smaller works right now (boxes) but I plan on doing some tables, chairs, benches and beds. I'm more of a hybrid than a true Neander (size on corded, finish with smoothers/scrapers/sanding).

Thanks for any advice/preference :D

James

Terry Bigelow
05-28-2008, 3:58 PM
I'm not sure which plane I should keep for use :confused:

Easy one, right boys? Let's all say it together...B-O-T-H!!:cool:

Seriously though, not much difference at all. The 8's got more mass which helps it do it's own thing but the difference is not worth arguing(some may disagree;)). Some I'm sure will say it's a bit too heavy as well. If the blade has been taken care of on the 7 and the 8 is in bad shape(i.e. needs new bevel established, back flattened, etc.) I guess you should keep the 7 if you REALLY have to keep one. But, you'll have to get the sharpening down sometime right? I still say keep 'em both but what do I know? I've fallen so far down the slope I can't see the top!

Mark Stutz
05-28-2008, 9:49 PM
Unless you need to sell one to free up funds, keep both for now. For some things I really like the mass of the #8 but it does get heavy after a while. I find myself reaching for the #7 at times rather than rehone the #8 in the middle of a project when I'm on a roll. After you have used them both for a while you will have a better feel if you like the #8 or whether you exclusively use the #7, in which case the #8 can go to the Classifieds!

Mark

Jim Koepke