PDA

View Full Version : Cherry Bowl

Mitchell Cholewinski
05-27-2008, 11:09 PM
Turned this bowl from a piece of wet cherry Approx 8" high and 11" diameter. The finish is gloss poly urethane which I like to use to seal the wet wood soon as it is turned. Haven't had a turning disfigure when treated this way no matter how wet it is. Mitch

Cary Swoveland
05-27-2008, 11:19 PM
That's a very nice bowl, Mitchell. Nice figure, color and shape. I'm new to turning, but surprised the finish would keep it from cracking.

Cary

Mitchell Cholewinski
05-28-2008, 12:41 AM
Cary
Thanks Cary. When I first started turning, I had a couple truck loads of cherry and turned a bunch of these bowls I really got to likeing cherry wood. When you have wet wood Cary and you start cutting on the outside, the first thing the wood does is start drying on the outside, almost immediately. If left unsealed the wood would dry very fast on the outside and much slower on the inside. This is when you have problems. Soon as I finish turning a piece I immediately seal it with either shellac, white or amber, sanding sealer or varnish. This seals the pores.Next day you hardly can tell you put anything on the piece cause the wood is so wet. I just keep repeating putting on coats of the 3 different sealers I use. These bowls, I never lost one yet.If I had to wait for months for wood to dry, I think I would quit turning.I know a lot of guys are skeptical about doing it this way but I did it hundreds of times since starting. A lot of time you get cracking etc from the piece of wood your turning. Lots of branches are notorious for cracking because the wood was growing under stress, blowing in the wind etc. Only way for you to see that this way works is for you to try it yourself and see. Seal, seal seal. If you don't turn wet wood your missing the best way of turning in my opinion. I only paid for one piece of wood in my turning career and my wife bought it for my birthday. Good Luck, Mitch

Barry Elder