PDA

View Full Version : Questions about 32mm & 1-1/4 systems

Phil Thien
05-26-2008, 11:17 PM
I'm fascinated by the 32mm system. If I understand it correctly, I can space 5mm holes 32mm apart on my cabinet sides, and use the holes for not only hinges but also shelves and drawer slides.

I have a few questions.

(1) I've searched Rockler/Woodcraft/Lee Valley for 32mm and I do find jigs (at Lee Valley) and hinges (everywhere). BUT, I don't see drawer slides. So how do I know how far apart to space the front/rear sets of holes so I can make drawer slides fit if I want to outfit a cabinet with drawers instead of doors/shelves? I'm new to all this and I've never installed a drawer slide but I'd like to, so I don't know if drawer slides come in standard depths with holes drilled for 32mm increments or what?

(2) I've read there is also a 1-1/4" system. This appeals to me so I can avoid working in metric (which is okay, but I just feel more comfortable with imperial). If I go with a 1-1/4" system, are there hinges/drawer slides available, or am I going to have a harder time finding those than the 32mm system?

Any input would be appreciated.

David DeCristoforo
05-27-2008, 12:02 AM
First read this:

http://32mm.dalrun.com/System_Design/Introduction.html

The attachment hole spacing for drawer glides varies from one manufacturer to another so you have to get those specs from them. But the front line bore is always 37 mils from the finished front edge for full overlay designs.

Bill Neely
05-27-2008, 3:15 AM
Here's another resource originally posted by Frank Shic:

http://www.cabsystems.com/KISSII/KIIrivIe-mail.pdf

32mm is just about 1 1/4" but I bit the bullet and bought a Fastcap metric tape and a metric steel rule. I'm getting comfortable with the system - I like it because there aren't any fractions to deal with.